At Palms Presbyterian Church, there are two kinds of church officers: ruling elders and deacons.


Elders are the foundation of the Presbyterian Church’s form of government (the word “Presbyterian” comes from the Greek word for “elder”). Elders are chosen by the people and are installed to terms of service on the session, the church’s governing body.

Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church (Book of Order, G-2.0301).

Word Cloud

Class of 2024

Pam Chally
Jeremy Thien
Chip Tousey

Class of 2025

Kim Gossett
Greg Veiga
Eric Vrabel

Class of 2026

Andy Mignerey
Lucy Stewart
Gordon Strickland

Clerk of the Session

Carolyn Ettlinger


The word “deacon” comes from the Greek word for “servant,” and from the very beginning of the Christian church, certain people have been set apart by the church as deacons to minister to those who are in need, both within and beyond the church.

The ministry of deacons as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress (Book of Order, G-2.0201).

Class of 2024

Amy Buescher
(Food for the Soul)

Ingram Caswell
(Hospital Visitation)

Judee DeWall
(Walking the Mourners’ Path)

Judi Grewell
(Congregational Care Team)

Julie Ledbetter
(Shepherd/Emergency Contact Ministry)

Christelle Rouse
(Flower Ministry)

Class of 2025

Matt Garner
(Helping Hands)

Mae Johnson
(Hospital Visitation)

Holly Jolles
(Flower Ministry)

Tonya LaBarbera
(Shepherd MInistry)

Pat Shea
(Food for the Soul)

Phyllis Tousey
(Hospital Visitation)

Class of 2026

Ellen Carson

Vickie Cavey

Laura Kusumoto

Pam Mann

Laura Strickland